Garmisch-Partenkirchen & the Zugspitze, Germany

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loud and proud, I belted out “Climb Every Mountain” at the top of the Zugspitze in Germany.  Well….not in real life.  In my mind, though, I sounded just like Julie Andrews before she had vocal chord issues.  I did the whole twirling around with my arms in the air thing, too.  Thankfully for my friends, however, that only happened in my head because I’d have looked like a freaker AND I have an awful singing voice.

But, you get the idea.  This place is beautiful.  Beyond beautiful.  People use words like “awesome”, “incredible” and “amazing” all the time for things that are really just “kinda-cool”, “pretty nice” and “okay”.  The Zugspitze truly has jaw-dropping, freakishly stunning views that deserve those accolades.  It’s a humbling place, too.  I felt simultaneously connected to everything and teeny-tiny.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Does a James Bond movie villain live here?
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Big Air waiting to happen
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The buildings in Garmisch-Partenkirschen were built by magical, lederhosen-wearing elves
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Next stop Zugspitze!

The Zugspitze and Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany.  Bucket-list worthy.

Links~

Zugspitze: http://zugspitze.de/en/winter/skiarea/garmisch-classic

Frommer’s: http://www.frommers.com/destinations/garmisch-partenkirchen/691583

Fodor’s: http://www.fodors.com/world/europe/germany/the-bavarian-alps/places/garmisch-partenkirchen

Leave a comment